Great News from Japan

At the Circus 49"w x 62"h

I am so happy to share that my hand stitched art quilt, At the Circus (49″w x 62″h) has been juried into the 11th Quilt Nihon Exhibition and has been awarded one of the top prestigious awards, the Founder’s Award / Seto Award.  This award includes a paid trip to Tokyo for a week to present a workshop and lecture.

The dates for that trip have not been discussed yet, but my husband and I will be attending the opening at the Tokyo Metropolitan Art Museum  in April and are looking forward to the award ceremony that will be held at that time.  Whew! That announcement letter  was a wonderful holiday gift to receive in the mail.

Making a large hand stitched quilt takes many months and there is no way to know that the piece will be chosen for a show when it’s entered.  It’s a good thing that I really enjoy producing my art quilts and that receiving a place in a show and especially an award, is really a Super Bonus!

Please visit http://www.marianneburr.com/ to see more of my work and learn more about me.

Please visit http://www.jhia.org/english/ to learn more about the Exhibition.

Leave a Reply

